ANIMALS, WHORES, & DIALOGUE

Posted: July 19, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,
So my good friend Martin Flynn sent me over a copy of Wayne Ewing’s new release Animals, Whores, and Dialogue.  I think I was supposed to have this done for Hunter’s birthday yesterday, but I was busy drinking Chivas on the shores of Portland, Maine– with three beautiful women.  I find due to the subject of this piece– it’s only fitting to be over my deadline. I believe Hunter would have been doing the same thing on his birthday.
Wayne Ewing has created a masterpiece. This is not your typical documentary. Imagine sitting in the kitchen with an old friend. Just the two of you, a bottle of Chivas, and a handful of friends and neighbors. What would you give to just watch the good doctor do his thing?  How would it feel to be part of the Owl Farm club?  Wayne Ewing has bought you the ticket, so you can take the ride.  I now feel as if I was and am a good friend of the family, after viewing this. The film is incredibly personal. It’s beyond just the Gonzo persona. It’s the good Doctor just being Hunter and telling you how it is.  Hunter shares his secret to success in life with you and the method behind the madness or “the formula” as he calls it.
It’s incredible to watch the excitement in Hunter’s eyes as either a friend or he himself  reads aloud past works.  It’s as if he was hearing them for the first time.  Hearing Hunter tell the story behind the stories is just for the lack of a better term simply amazing. I don’t think there really are any words that could capture the true Just-us factor this film has. This film is a must watch for any fan of Hunter S. Thompson. Anybody who’s ever thought or said  “I wish I could have hung out with Hunter S. Thompson one time.” Well now you can thanks to Wayne Ewing.  It was a high honor just to watch this film. In closing all I can say is after watching this “ I now feel as if I’m a close friend of Hunter S. Thompson and spent an evening at the Owl Farm and had a few drinks with the gang.”
Leave a Reply

